These Connecticut shows take place on consecutive weekends, and both involve Saturday-morning set-ups, which I despise. This year, that was about the only similarity between them.

I'm a repesentational oil painter with pieces ranging from 10 inches by 10 inches and $100 to 48x72 and $5500. I paint with a palette knife, and my pieces are bright and heavily textured.

The Mystic show is a big one, stretching down the main street in town and along a few side streets. The Mystic River divides the town and the show. Traffic continues on the main street during the show, and a drawbridge in the middle of town stops traffic throughout the show.

Booths are $270. On the east side of the river, in the commercial area, the tents are cheek to jowl, facing the sidewalk and stores. On much of the west side, the tents are also cheek to jowl, facing a narrow sidewalk and a hedge.

I was living near Mystic when I got into the Mystic show for the first year. The person who decided the layout was my neighbor, and gave me an excellent spot, on a corner of a side street closed to traffic, with enough room to hang paintings outside as well as in. If you do Mystic, you might ask to be on one of the side streets. They have a little less traffic, but they won't have a crush of people so big they push would-be buyers right past your tent. 

A side note: A number of businesses in town rent their parking lots to artists and crafters. These areas are not part of the Mystic show, but patrons don't know that. This can make for some odd inclusions, including some buy-sell. But if you're in one of these spots, you can generally set up Friday night. And you get all the traffic of the show as a whole. A friend did this this year; the booth fee was higher than the show fee, but was still reasonable, and she did well.