I have been doing the Golden Fine Arts for over 10 years and always paid my sales tax at the end of the show. It was never a big deal and no city licensing was required. The only problem I ever encountered was one year I was told to go to the wrong place to pay by a volunteer. Now because some artists have skipped town with out paying, paperwork for a temporary license and a $50 deposit needs to be paid up front before the show. And to add insult to injury, the town Tax Auditor refers to participants in this upscale show as 'VENDORS". Thanks to all you schmucks who don't pay the sales tax. 

You need to be a member of Art Fair Insiders to add comments!

Join Art Fair Insiders

Votes: 0
Email me when people reply –

Replies

• I have a Colorado state sales tax license and paying the state sales tax after a show is extremely easy to do online. But, they don't collect for so-called "home rule" cities, which includes every city where I'll be doing a show. Paying the city tax immediately after the show is very convenient. I don't care about a deposit, as long as the excess is refunded. (My art isn't expensive.) What I don't like is having to research how to pay for a city I'll rarely sell in. The online forms don't really seem to apply, and they ask for lots of information that I don't have. In one case, I just filled out part of some form and sent in a check. Haven't heard back, so I assume they are happy.

• If you are a S or C corporation, it is another layer of paper work and hassle with states for license and paying sales tax. I only know about CA and TX and decided long ago that both states were off my list. Texas came after me before the shows (5 days) to get a "franchise license". I have been told CA wants an $800 deposit up front. As State budgets have shrunk, restrictions have changed from honor system to more regulation by show turning in list of artists. I am glad I have been able to cut back on shows and deal with the ones of my choice.