I'm in the market for a new digi camera - help?

Hey all! I have been using a decent sony camera for a few years now, and lately it has really become temperamental - eating batteries like candy, the quality - although still nice - doesn't keep up with the newer cheaper models, and it is kinda bulky. My intention is to use it to take photographs of products for my website as well as use at shows, travel, and the like. I am pretty good with a camera, so it doesn't have to be simple, but looking for some ideas and recommendations from folks here. Michelle By the Bay Botanicals www.bythebaybotanicals.com

You need to be a member of Art Fair Insiders to add comments!

Join Art Fair Insiders

Votes: 0
Email me when people reply –

Replies

• Hey all. I guess I never followed up with this post as I see folks very enthusiastic about sharing their opinions on the topic. Although I did get my at the beginning of Dec. '09, a Canon powershot SD1200 IS, I hope this discussion continues as there are folks who are always looking for a new camera. Whether it is their first camera or their 21st (as they can never find the right one or they break easily) this info is gold, in my opinion. Thanks for your help and advice - everyone! - Michelle
  • Hi Michelle.....
    I am camera dependant and mine are high end prices so I won't recommend any of those.
    However - seems like all the pocket cameras have higher pixels so that's not really a consideration.
    THE most important part of the camera is the lens. While the smaller ones do not have interchangable lenses and are not SLR's, I would suggest to anyone looking for a pocket camera to first stay with the better known cameras (Canon etc) and pick one that emphasize the lens features.
    Any of those are great for the "snapshot" user - perfect for show image pictures.