Booth to crowded?

Hello from a newbie. I am a nature photographer and decided to bite the bullet and sign up for a few local art and craft shows. I certainly did not relize what I was getting myself into or the expense and time that went with it. However I am still excited and moving forward with the show. To get a couple of booth photos  I had to setup my canopy on my closed in deck due to our windy cold weather up here in the north. I was wondering if two six foot tables would leave enough room for a few customers. Thank you and let me know if I could do anything to improve my setup.

_8102362.jpg

_8102357.jpg

_8102364.jpg

You need to be a member of Art Fair Insiders to add comments!

Join Art Fair Insiders

Votes: 0
Email me when people reply –

Replies

• I can't tell how you hang your framed photos on the wall.  If you used the top cross bar, what will happen on a very windy day?  If the tent sides start flapping back and forth, what will happen to your framed items.  If a thunder storm or wind comes through at night, you won't be there to prevent damage.  Buy or make good tent weights of at lease 50 pounds per corner. 

Always have your most eye catching piece centered on the back wall so that customers walking by will see it and a couple of other really good pieces on the front of the side walls for the same reason. Have 4-6 adult people you know come over and pretend to shop in you booth. I think you will remove at least one table.  With shows costing $300 to $500 each, show prep time, setup and tear down, you will want to sell at least $3000 on average per show just to cover your inventory cost, travel cost, and time. Unless you have a lot of inventory you aren't showing you can't make that much.  Ask yourself how much is your time worth, what will be my travel cost be at 55 cents per mile, and what will my food and lodging cost me?  Now ask your self what is my profit margin and you will come up with a break even sales figure for each show.